Not just looking good.

As my readers know, this blog serves several purposes, at least to me. It forces me to think deeply, before I write and that’s not easy at all. All too often I write before I think. My second goal is to adress all kinds of myopia in business, mostly surrounding media, old and new. Doing so, I discovered that myopia is everywhere, even in my own mind. Third purpose is exercise in writing and writing skills, as a learning experience to produce a real book, be it paper or digital, somewhere around July 2011. The 4th purpose is interesting and a bit strange. I set out to clean my shelves of the books I bought during my 25 years journey in the still fast paced and exiting domain of all things digital.  And in deciding whether or not a book survived the test of time, I discover interesting and stimulating thoughts and share it through my blog.

This morning I read a few pieces in ‘Designing Business’ by Clement Mok. The subtitle of this still standing tall piece of work is ‘Multiple Media, Multiple Disciplines’, a phrase that inspired me to design a logo and a concept for a consultancy in 1998 by the name M3D.

The book is brilliant. Just read the introduction from the first chapter.

‘Surrounded by the fantastic forms that technology takes, it’s easy to think we’ve landed on another planet, but the down-to-earth reality is that business will have to live with the constant arrival of new technologies for some time to come. Further complicating that reality is the fact that introducing an innovation into the marketplace doesn’t guarantee its success. On the contrary, it’s the ability of humans to adjust to change that controls whether new technology is accepted. The internet’s twenty-year “overnight success” shows that technology evolves much more quickly than humans adapt to it. People adopt ideas when social, personal, and financial trends intersect -a confluence that may seem random but that usually happens “by design”. Design, in its broadest sense, is the enabler of the digital era – it’s a process that creates order out of chaos, that renders technology usable to business. Design means being good, not just looking good’.

This book was published in 1996. Wow.

Leave a Reply

